Well Dressed: New Year’s Eve!

Happy New Year from beautiful La Quinta, California! I’m at my favorite La Quinta Resort and Spa for a little R&R before heading into LA for the Rose Bowl. With New Year’s Eve right around the corner, you are most likely panicking about what you’ll wear, and you are most definitely hoping it’s not that same (yet trusty) LBD in the back of your closet. As you may have noticed about me, I love pieces that give me pairing options and this amazing sequin maxi is no exception. Los Angeles fashion always seems so understated/boho chic to me (which I love), and it’s cool here at night so I wanted to do something that would be weather-appropriate and also something funky and edgy to offset and tone down the sequins. This skirt could easily be paired with a denim shirt or with a cropped black top (like this one) and the options for outwear are plenty — a moto jacket (like mine), trim blazer, velvet blazer or fur vest/jacket. To show off the figure-flattering nature of the skirt, just make sure your outerwear is no longer than the hips.

Hoping this out-of-the-box option gives you some inspiration to mix it up! After all, a new year is all about starting fresh. To help you in that regard, we have a New Moon on New Year’s Day (which hasn’t happened in 19 years) and New Moon energy offers us the opportunity to let go of the past and welcome a fresh perspective. I was turned on to astrology several years ago when I had my chart read and continue to find it useful in understanding not only the day-to-day nuances of my life, but perhaps more importantly the big picture and my life purpose (I find this weekly astrological journal to be particularly helpful should you be interested). Understanding universal energy at the time we were born as well as present day, is a powerful tool for internal reflection and self acceptance, and a helpful compass for your path moving forward.

IMG_7144

IMG_7126

IMG_7096

IMG_7152

IMG_7187

IMG_7177

IMG_7118

IMG_7164

June leather button up, Line & Dot sequin maxi, Nocturne necklace, Jean-Michel Cazabat pumps, patent clutch (my grandma’s! similar here)

IMG_7201

IMG_7202

IMG_7204

IMG_7248

IMG_7249

IMG_7299

IMG_7251

IMG_7257IMG_7286

IMG_7291

IMG_7292

IMG_7294

ALC t-shirt, Belstaff leather moto jacket, Céline bag

Wishing you an amazing start to 2014! I’m excited about my next post featuring something Rose Bowl inspired. I’ll also be posting soon with my travel tips for a perfect trip to the Palm Springs/La Quinta area. Stay tuned! Thank you for reading!

Be well xo

Annie

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

