Well Dressed: Printed Pants à la Isabel Marant

In anticipation of tomorrow’s launch of the Isabel Marant for H&M collection, I have been wearing these houndstooth-printed Isabel Marant pants quite a bit lately. I didn’t think I could dress them down at first but that was before these Marni boots arrived and it was a match made in 90s heaven. I love the fall grunge/punk trend because I can relate to it, since about the time I became interested in fashion (teen years), it was smack dab in the middle of the 90s when oversized plaid shirts and Doc Marten boots were all the rage. I am kicking myself (pun not intended) for not saving my Doc Marten boots as they’d be nearly vintage by now. Moral of the story? Now more than ever I’m realizing how much fashion comes back around and despite my temptations to take old clothes to Goodwill, I plan to do better at saving key pieces. As another styling option, I’m excited to wear these boots with a plaid miniskirt and oversized, chunky sweater. A side bonus is the boots have a detachable tongue and another buckle that give them an even edgier look. Without the tongue they are a bit more understated.

Given that the pants are playful and let’s face it – there’s a lot going in with this bold pattern, I wanted to keep the rest of the outfit simple and streamlined for night. As such, I chose basic black and red, and the moto jacket is a great “tough” piece to tone down how playful and bold the pants are. For daytime, I felt a little more at liberty to keep the look playful but not over the top, and the ruffles on the jacket add just a touch of femininity to an otherwise slouchy, casual and understated look. I’ve had a thing lately for graphic t-shirts and the statement on this one reminded me of the importance of staying present. Our emotions have a way of keeping us clinging to the past and anticipating the future – neither of which allow us to see the joy that sits in front of us each and every day. Thank you for reading!

IMG_6036

IMG_6040

IMG_6065

IMG_6190

IMG_6101

IMG_6132

IMG_6155

IMG_6136

IMG_6173

Dressed down: Isabel Marant pants, Marni boots, Aritzia tee, 3.1 Phillip Lim jacket, Aritzia hat (available in store), Céline bag, faux fur infinity scarf (old – similar here), Wayfarer sunnies

IMG_5963

IMG_5959

Untitled-2

IMG_5978

IMG_6009

IMG_6014

IMG_6028

IMG_5996

IMG_5990

Dressed up: Isabel Marant pants (link above), Belstaff jacket, ALC keyhole top (old – similar here), Jean-Michel Cazabat heels, Céline bag

Be well xo

Annie

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

