Well Dressed: One more wear of white

In Michigan, where I call home, we are entering our last week of summer. Public schools traditionally start the day after Labor Day and the short-lived (but beautiful) fall season follows quickly thereafter. I am leaving for New York in the morning and haven’t started packing, but I operate best under last-minute pressure. You could say I take the in-the-moment mentality a little to seriously sometimes.

As we all know, retailers bombard us with the next season of trends before we even want to ponder a wardrobe change, and each year in February and July I swear I’m not going to even look at, let alone purchase, clothes that I can’t dream of wearing for a solid 3 months. But, alas, I rationalize purchasing via FOMO – a term that my former college roommate used to throw out there when I’d say I was staying in for the night but would be ready to hit the town 20 minutes later — the fear of missing out. Long story short – I purchased these fantastic white suede Manolos from Bergdorfs back in FEBRUARY when the only thing they went with was the 3 feet of snow outside my window that wasn’t going away until, at best, late April. When I came across this J Brand romper at my local Intermix, it was a match made in angelic, white-cloud heaven. When I come across an item I love, my first thought is the aforementioned admiration and the second thought is, “can I dress this up AND down?” Most trends don’t typically have longevity from year-to-year but they can give you more bang for your buck if you shop wisely.

Dressing it down I opted for a belt because without the leg-lengthening affect of the heels, the belt gives the romper some shape so it didn’t appear as though I was wearing a burlap sack. Dressing it up, I chose the nod to the gold and white/monochrome trend that we saw for spring/summer.

Thank you for reading my first post! Stay tuned for an NYC update this week. Enjoy your last week of summer!

Be well xo

Annie

Dressed down: J Brand romper; J. Crew sandals (old – similar here); Chloé bag; J. Crew belt (old – similar here); Bracelets Cartier, Broken English & Suzanne White Designs; Rings Tiffany, Catbird & Ileana Makri; Necklaces David Yurman & blogger’s own; Sunglasses Tom Ford; Nails Essie Mint Candy Apple

Dressed up: J Brand romper; Manolo Blahnik heels; Gucci bag (old); Bracelets Cartier & Lindsay Vallan; Earrings Aurélie Bidermann; Ring Anita Ko

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

One Comment on “Well Dressed: One more wear of white

Leave a Reply

